Dear Jillian
2004-01-28 ~ 5:57 p.m.

Dear Jillian,

You are 24 hours and 6 minutes old as I sit at my desk to type this. You emerged into the flourescent lighting of a surgical delivery room yesterday, with a full head of hair weighing 6 pounds 5 ounces. They measured you at 18 inches long.

I wonder what you think about this world so far. I wonder what this world will be like when you are as old as your Auntie Hester and myself.

For instance, it is currently looking like Senator Kerry will be the Democratic nominee for President. There are two identical twin robot rovers sitting on Mars collecting pictures, samples, and running tests.

Who knows who might take office and in what way they will shape the future of our lives. It could be that by the time you are old enough to read this, we will have discovered proof of life on Mars and begun colonizing other planets. Or that could be just like the dream of flying cars that my generation had as children.

You were born in interesting times, little one.

No matter which way the winds of change might blow, I hope that your life is always filled with promise.

Hester and I will be meeting you tomorrow.

...previously... ~ ...next...

content � tigereyedvamp 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005