expired registration
2005-02-22 ~ 12:21 a.m.


it breaks me, it all just breaks me and all around me.

these are a great poems, and ones I used in her class...

"BECAUSE I could not stop for Death,
He kindly stopped for me;
The carriage held but just ourselves
And Immortality.

We slowly drove, he knew no haste,
And I had put away
My labor, and my leisure too,
For his civility.

We passed the school where children played
At wrestling in a ring;
We passed the fields of gazing grain,
We passed the setting sun.

We paused before a house that seemed
A swelling of the ground;
The roof was scarcely visible,
The cornice but a mound.

Since then �t is centuries; but each
Feels shorter than the day
I first surmised the horses� heads
Were toward eternity. "

&

"I FELT a funeral in my brain,
And mourners, to and fro,
Kept treading, treading, till it seemed
That sense was breaking through.

And when they all were seated,
A service like a drum
Kept beating, beating, till I thought
My mind was going numb.

And then I heard them lift a box,
And creak across my soul
With those same boots of lead, again.
Then space began to toll

As all the heavens were a bell,
And Being but an ear,
And I and silence some strange race,
Wrecked, solitary, here. "

emily dickinson

there are also hundreds of people out there who can randomly spout beowulf in old english by drilled in memory. outside of that, she amazed me. i've never really met a better person. just good. and solid.

i am tired. i am sad.

...previously... ~ ...next...

content � tigereyedvamp 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005